The Weeping Willows

Set times


The Weeping Willows, Laura Coates and Andrew Wrigglesworth, are a couple of old souls, steeped in Bluegrass tradition and draped in Gothic Americana imagery.

They regale their audiences with stories of sunshine and romance, God and The Devil, murder and decay. That kind of description might make them sound like some carefully contrived concept-act but there’s something truly different about The Weeping Willows: they really mean it.

The last few years have seen The Weeping Willows nominated for 5 x CMAA ‘Golden Guitar’ awards, 4 x Country Music Channel (CMC) awards, Live Act of the Year (Country) in the National Live Music Awards (NLMAs), APRA AMCOS Australian Independent Country Music Single of the Year and Group/Duo of the Year in the ‘Southern Stars’ (Australian Independent Country Music awards), winning 3 x Tamworth Songwriters Association (TSA) awards and being shortlisted in the 2017 and 2019 APRA Professional Development Awards.

In recent years they have performed at AmericanaFest (USA), Folk Alliance International (USA) the Maverick Festival (UK), Port Fairy Folk Festival and Queenscliff Music Festival, supported Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real (USA), Hayes Carll (USA), Iris DeMent (USA), Eilen Jewell (USA), Kinky Friedman (USA), Kevin Welch (USA), Tomato Tomato (CAN), Shane Nicholson, Bill Chambers and Lachlan Bryan and completed national and international tours in support of their sophomore album, Before Darkness Comes A-Callin’ (2016), which received four-star reviews in Rolling Stone, The Australian and The Music.

A Weeping Willows performance, whether live on location or caught on video will always delight. But why not see them for free at Groundwater CMF 2020!

Stay up to date

Keep up to date with all of the news and announcements surrounding the 2020 Groundwater Country Music Festival, with updates sent directly to your inbox.

Wait, before you go

Subscribe to the Groundwater Country Music Festival newsletter to receive all the latest news and festival updates.